photos?

Dears,

I was really very very unsure what kind of photo-equipment to take with me to my brittish design-and-soul seeking mission, it ended up quite heavy, so I took my old friend Practica with me and bunch of films, new guy to my ensemble – Polaroid 636 close up and a tiny tiny I-can’t-do-much digital camera for touristy photos (of which I actually haven’t taken any yet, sorry!!). Last week the old Practica bitch tore my film up again while I was rewinding it, as the old moody lady sometimes does, argghhh, and I lost what I hoped to be quite a nice set of photos from my school area and from Greenwich, being sad and angry about this what better to do than go to a photography exhibition. So I went to the Saatchi gallery, whis is just amazing, the exhibition spaces are spectacular, bright and clean and beautiful, spacious rooms with pale wooden floors…just bliss really. There are like ten exhibitions right now, the most fun and amazing for me was the Google view exhibition at the top floor. Huge photos taken from Google street view including pictures of streets just in the moment when a seagull flew in front of the camera, or a butterfly but also showing policemen arresting some guys, traffic accidents, little old lady throwing up at a bench by the coast, girls waiting for customers at the corners and so on…. But the main benefit of my Saatchi visit was still to follow, I went to the gallery shop (as I always do to wander around and wish to have loads of money to spend on books and postcards and design little notebooks and good-for-nothing little gifts) an discovered a sale on Action samplers!! Oh yeah!!! I’ve been quite recently thinking about starting to experiment with lomography, since all the photography lectures took all the fun and excitement from taking pictures for me, but than an opportunity came and I bought the Polaroid thing, that rescued me of “the high art of photography”, because it can’t do anything, it just takes pictures which are actually quite bad usually but there is something about them (can’t really say what) that I really love. Same with the action sampler, you don’t even see very good what are you actually taking photo of, but the concept is just oh so very refresing for me. So so so so this my friends is a new addition to my humble photo-company, I’m very very excited!!!

Obrázek

I solemnly swear that I’m up to no good!!

So the photos are coming I promise, it just takes more time the whole analogue thing, thanks for waiting.
Cheers!

loads of love, all the London squirrels!
x

Leave a Reply

